Summary Information About Yalova

Yalova Province is a province in northwestern Turkey, on the eastern coast of the Sea of Marmara. Its adjacent provinces are Bursa to the south and Kocaeli to the east. Prior to 1930, the area around Yalova constituted a district of Kocaeli Province; from 1930 to 1995, it was made part of Istanbul Province; in 1995, the area was separated and made into the current Yalova Province.

The provincial capital is the city of Yalova. is a city located in northwestern Turkey, near the eastern coast of the Sea of Marmara. Currently there is a controversy around the municipal election results in Yalova especially after the Supreme Election Board invalidated the 2014 Municipal Election results on April 24, 2014 after a few recounts that changed results.

In general, it is assumed that the name Yalova comes from Yalıova. Yalı means ‘house at the coast’ and ova means ‘plain’ in Turkish.


Yalova has a Mediterranean climate, with cool, wet winters and hot, relatively dry summers.




833.00 km 2










History of Yalova

Yalova Province is one of the important settlements with its natural beauties, beaches and famous thermal springs, established on the north-facing foothills of the Samanlı Mountains. The settlement in the Yalova region goes back to ancient times. The settlement in today’s city center, which was a swampy area in the past, was much later. The ancient name of the Samanlı Mountains, extending in the east-west direction in the south of the province, was Arganthonios. Arganthonios, the typical Anatolian name of that period, shows us that the settlement in the region dates back to 2000 BC, that is, to the Hatti-Hittite period. The hot springs located near the city center were called Pythia Therma in ancient times. The establishment and development of facilities from the healing hot mineral water resources that have been used since the first age played a role in the growth and recognition of the city.   Yalova region has been included in the lands of Bithynia, Rome, Eastern Rome (Byzantine) throughout history. Although the exact name of the settlement in the ancient period is not known, it is mentioned in various sources that the region is called PYLOPYTHIA and XENODOCHION.   Between today’s Herzegovina and Çiftlikköy, it was famous as a summer resort town of Roman, Eastern Roman (Byzantine) Emperors and palace circles.   The aforementioned region was known as HALIZONES LANDS or YALAKOVASI. The region suffered significant damage during the Crusades.   The Seljuks repelled the Crusader pioneers at KIBOTOS, located around the present-day Hersek Village, on October 21, 1096.   In 1301, the Ottomans defeated the Byzantines in Koyunhisar (Çobankale), located on the Hersek-Yalakdere Valley-İznik road, and continued their raids to the seaside.   The turning point in the first periods of Ottoman history was on July 27, 1302. The Turks under the command of Osman Gazi defeated the Byzantines in the Battle of Bapheus, at the mouth of the Yalakdere Valley opening to the sea and around Herzegovina.   Some historians accept this event as the definitive founding date of the Ottoman Empire.   In both the Battle of Koyunhisar in 1301 and the Battle of Bapheus on 27 July 1302, although the Ottomans defeated the Byzantines, they could not capture Çobankale (Koyunhisar) and the Yalakonia Castle on the seaside.   After the fall of Yalakonya Castle and Çobankale in 1337, Yalova region was joined to Ottoman lands by Emir Ali.   XV and XVI century historians used the names YALAKOVA and YALAKABAD for the region.

Districts of Yalova

  • Altınova
  • Armutlu
  • Çiftlikköy
  • Çınarcık
  • Termal


Point of Interests in Yalova

Yalova has a number of tourist attractions, such as the “Yalova Atatürk Mansion” used by Mustafa Kemal Atatürk, the founder of the modern Turkey, during his visits to the city.


There are also numerous new cultural centres, such as the Raif Dinçkök Cultural Centre and Cem Kültür House.

The city is known for its hot springs in the Termal district, which gets its name from the Greek word θερμαί ‘warm’.

Another attraction is the Karaca Arboretum on the way to Termal.

The Yalova Earthquake Monument is situated in the 17 August Park at the coast of Marmara Sea.

Let's see the cuisine of Yalova


For more information about Yalova



For more information, you may visit the official government website of YALOVA


See the other cities of Turkey


Balıkesir Province is a province in northwestern Turkey with coastlines on both the Sea of Marmara and the Aegean. Its

Learn More »


Ordu Province is a province of Turkey, located on the Black Sea coast. Its adjacent provinces are Samsun to the

Learn More »


Iğdır Province is a province in eastern Turkey, located along the borders with Armenia, Azerbaijan (the area of Nakhchivan Autonomous

Learn More »


Bursa Province is a province in Turkey along the Sea of Marmara coast in northwestern Anatolia. It borders Balıkesir to

Learn More »
No more posts to show
Sign up now
and get a free copy
of our Investment Guide.
Sign up now and get a free copy of our Investment Guide.

©2022, ZEEDEED­­™ is a protected trademark. All rights reserved.