Summary Information About Konya

Konya Province is a province of Turkey in southwest-central Anatolia. The provincial capital is the city of Konya. By area it is the largest province of Turkey.


The land is broad and flat with a lot of lowlands and plateaus. The plateaus are covered with rich steppes; the southernmost part of Konya is largely surrounded by the Taurus Mountains.


The city and the southern parts of the greater Konya enjoy abundant sunshine across the country, resulting in big potential in solar farming. The largest solar farm of Turkey is located 20 miles west of the city. The Kızılören solar power plant in Konya will be able to produce 22.5 megawatts of electricity in an area of 430,000 square meters


Konya is connected to Ankara, Eskişehir and Istanbul via the high-speed railway services of the Turkish State Railways.


Konya Airport is a public airport and military airbase that is also used by NATO. In 2006, Konya Airport served 2,924 aircraft and 262,561 passengers. The Third Air Wing of the 1st Air Force Command is based at the Konya Air Base. The wing controls the four Boeing 737 AEW&C Peace Eagle aircraft of the Turkish Air Force.


Konya has a tramway network in the city center, on which the Škoda 28 T trams are being used. The Konya Metro is currently in the planning and development phase and is slated for construction starting in 2020.


Konya has a cold semi-arid climate and a temperate continental (Dc) climate under the Trewartha classification.


Summers temperatures average 30 °C (86 °F), although nightly temperatures in the summer months are cool. The highest temperature recorded in Konya was 40.6 °C (105 °F) on 30 July 2000. Winters average −4.2 °C (24 °F), and the lowest temperature recorded was −26.5 °C (−16 °F) on 6 February 1972. Precipitation levels are low, but precipitation can be observed throughout the year, most frequently in winter and spring.




38257.00 km 2










History of Konya

Excavations have shown that the region was inhabited during the Late Copper Age, around 3000 BC. The city came under the influence of the Hittites around 1500 BC. Later it was overtaken by the Sea Peoples in around 1200 BC.


The Phrygians established their kingdom in central Anatolia in the 8th century BC. The region was overwhelmed by Cimmerian invaders c. 690 BC. It was later part of the Persian Empire, until Darius III was defeated by Alexander the Great in 333 BC.


The Seljuk Turks first raided the area in 1069, but a period of chaos overwhelmed Anatolia after the Seljuk victory in the Battle of Manzikert in 1071, and the Norman mercenary leader Roussel de Bailleul rose in revolt at Iconium. The city was finally conquered by the Seljuks in 1084.


From 1097 to 1243 it was the capital of the Seljuk Sultanate of Rum.

Konya reached the height of its wealth and influence in the second half of the 12th century when the Seljuk sultans of Rum also subdued the Anatolian beyliks to their east, especially that of the Danishmends, thus establishing their rule over virtually all of eastern Anatolia, as well as acquiring several port towns along the Mediterranean (including Alanya) and the Black Sea (including Sinop) and even gaining a momentary foothold in Sudak, Crimea. This golden age lasted until the first decades of the 13th century


Following the fall of the Anatolian Seljuk Sultanate in 1307, Konya became the capital of Karamanids, a Turkish beylik, which lasted until 1322 when the city was captured by the neighbouring Beylik of Karamanoğlu. In 1420, the Beylik of Karamanoğlu fell to the Ottoman Empire and, in 1453, Konya was made the provincial capital of Karaman Eyalet.


During Ottoman rule, Konya was administered by the Sultan’s sons.

Konya had a major air base during the Turkish War of Independence. In 1922, the Air Force was renamed as the Inspectorate of Air Forces and was headquartered in Konya. In 1923 in the frame of the population exchange between Greece and Turkey, the Greeks that inhabited Sille, a nearby village, left as refugees and settled in Greece.


The first local administration in Konya was founded in 1830. This administration was converted into a municipality in 1876. In March 1989, the municipality became a Metropolitan Municipality. As of that date, Konya had three central district municipalities (Meram, Selçuklu, Karatay) and a Metropolitan Municipality.

Districts of Konya

  • Ahırlı
  • Akören
  • Akşehir
  • Altınekin
  • Beyşehir
  • Bozkır
  • Çeltik
  • Cihanbeyli
  • Çumra
  • Derbent
  • Derebucak
  • Doğanhisar
  • Emirgazi
  • Ereğli
  • Güneysınır
  • Hadim
  • Halkapınar
  • Hüyük
  • Ilgın
  • Kadınhanı
  • Karapınar
  • Karatay
  • Kulu
  • Meram
  • Sarayönü
  • Selçuklu
  • Seydişehir
  • Taşkent
  • Tuzlukçu
  • Yalıhüyük
  • Yunak

Point of Interests in Konya

Konya was the final home of Rumi (Mevlana), whose tomb is in the city. In 1273, his followers in Konya established the Mevlevi Sufi order of Islam and became known as the Whirling Dervishes. Konya has the reputation of being one of the more religiously conservative metropolitan centers in Turkey. It was once known as the “citadel of Islam” and its inhabitants are still comparatively more devout than those from other cities


Every Thursday and Saturday, one can see a performance (Sama) by the Whirling Dervishes at the Mevlana Museum. Unlike commercial performances staged at other cities like Istanbul, this is a spiritual session meant to maintain the sanctity of the Order’s tradition.


Konya produced Turkish carpets that were exported to Europe during the Renaissance. These expensive, richly patterned textiles were draped over tables, beds, or chests to proclaim the wealth and status of their owners, and were often included in the contemporary oil paintings as symbols of the wealth of the painter’s clients

Let's see the cuisine of Konya

  • Etli ekmek – flat bread baked with ground meat, peppers, onions, and tomatoes
  • Pişmaniye – similar to American cotton candy and resembling a fully white ball of yarn
  • Fırın kebab – oven-cooked meat (usually lamb)
  • Various candies – Konya is known for its sweets, including cezerye, an old Turkish sweet made of carrots
  • Tirit – a traditional rice dish that is made with meat and various vegetables
  • Tavuk suyu – a tomato broth-based soup made with shredded chicken and noodles


For more information about Konya



For more information, you may visit the official government website of KONYA


See the other cities of Turkey


Bolu Province is a province situated in north-western Turkey. It is located between the capital, Ankara and the largest city

Learn More »


Bingöl Province is a province of Turkey in Eastern Anatolia. The province was known as Çapakçur Province until 1945 when

Learn More »


Osmaniye Province  is a Turkish province located in southern Turkey. It was named Cebel-i Bereket (lit. ’Fertile Mountain’) in the early

Learn More »


Trabzon Province is a province of Turkey on the Black Sea coast. Located in a strategically important region, Trabzon is

Learn More »
No more posts to show
Sign up now
and get a free copy
of our Investment Guide.
Sign up now and get a free copy of our Investment Guide.

©2022, ZEEDEED­­™ is a protected trademark. All rights reserved.