Summary Information About Eskişehir

Eskişehir Province is a province in northwestern Turkey. Its adjacent provinces are Bilecik to the northwest, Kütahya to the west, Afyon to the southwest, Konya to the south, Ankara to the east, and Bolu to the north. The provincial capital is Eskişehir. Most of the province is laid down in Central Anatolia Region. Northern parts of Mihalıççık district and ones of Mihalgazi and Sarıcakaya are located in the Black Sea Region and one of them belong to the Aegean Region.


Eskişehir is an old, culturally developed province of Turkey. It has a population of 844,842. Its urban population is 734,837. Eskişehir has 2 universities, Eskişehir Osmangazi University ESOGU, and Anadolu Üniversitesi, which is the largest university in Turkey and which has some branch offices in Europe.


Eskişehir city is located on the banks of the Porsuk River, 792 m above sea level, where it overlooks the fertile Phrygian Valley. In the nearby hills one can find hot springs. The city is 233 km (145 mi) to the west of Ankara, 330 km (205 mi) to the southeast of Istanbul and 78 km (48 mi) to the northeast of Kütahya. Known as a university town, both Eskişehir Osmangazi University and Anadolu University (which has one of the largest student enrollments in the world) are based in Eskişehir. The province covers an area of 2,678 km2 (1,034 sq mi)




13652,00 km 2










History of Eskişehir

The name Eskişehir literally means ‘Old City’ in Turkish. The city was founded by the Phrygians in at least 1000 BC, although it has been estimated to be older than 4000 years old. The current city lies about a mile from the ancient Phrygian city of Dorylaeum. Many Phrygian artifacts and sculptures can still be found in the city’s archeological museum. There is also a museum of meerschaum stone, whose production remains still notable, used to make high quality meerschaum pipes. In the fourth century AD the city moved about ten km northeast, from Karacahisar to Şehirhöyük.


Many ancient geographers described the city as one of the most beautiful in Anatolia.


As with many towns in Anatolia, Christianity arrived after Constantine the Great legalized the religion in the Roman Empire. Beginning in the 4th century, records exist of bishops holding office in Eskişehir. The city was known as Dorylaeum in Greek in that period. One of these bishops, Eusebius, was heavily involved in shaping the evolving dogma of the church.


It was called Sultanönü during the Seljuk period. In 1097 it was the site of a battle in which the First Crusade defeated Kilij Arslan I; the town later fell to the Turks in 1176, or the 13th century.


Districts of Eskişehir

  • Odunpazarı
  • Tepebaşı
  • Alpu
  • Beylikova
  • Çifteler
  • Günyüzü
  • Han
  • İnönü
  • Mahmudiye
  • Mihalgazi
  • Mihalıççık
  • Sarıcakaya
  • Seyitgazi
  • Sivrihisar

Point of Interests in Eskişehir

Eskişehir is internationally known as the source of Meerschaum, a white foamy stone which is used for smoking pipes with detailed carvings. It is called lületaşı in Turkish.


In August 2019, researchers head by Prof. Murat Türkteki announced the discovery of two skeletons dating back about 5,000 years in the same sarcophagus in Early Bronze Age settlement Küllüoba. Excavators assumed that one of the skeletons was a 13-year-old girl and other was a man in his late 30s.


In August 2020, archaeologists head by Prof. Murat Türktaki revealed a 5,000-year-old paint palette made of stone in the Seyitgazi district at the Küllüoba site. According to Türktaki, this palette was used for painting dishes.


In March 2021, discovery of the marble sarcophagus  which is 1.5 meters tall and 33 centimeters wide in the Seyitgazi district at the Küllüoba site was announced by the municipal workers while construction work.

Let's see the cuisine of Eskişehir

  • PASA
  • BOZA

For more information about Eskişehir



For more information, you may visit the official government website of ESKISEHIR


See the other cities of Turkey


Gümüşhane Province is a province in northern Turkey, bordering Bayburt to the east, Trabzon to the north, Giresun and Erzincan

Learn More »


Malatya Province is a province of Turkey. It is part of a larger mountainous area. The capital of the province

Learn More »


Tunceli Province, formerly Dersim Province, is located in the Eastern Anatolia region of Turkey. The least densely-populated province in Turkey,

Learn More »


Aydın Province (Turkish: Aydın ili) is a province of southwestern Turkey, located in the Aegean Region. The provincial capital is

Learn More »
No more posts to show
Sign up now
and get a free copy
of our Investment Guide.
Sign up now and get a free copy of our Investment Guide.

©2022, ZEEDEED­­™ is a protected trademark. All rights reserved.