Summary Information About Diyarbakır

Diyarbakır Province is a province in southeastern Turkey. The province covers an area of 15,355 km2 and its population is 1,528,958. The provincial capital is the city of Diyarbakır. The province has a Kurdish majority and is considered part of Turkish Kurdistan. Diyarbakir city is the largest Kurdish-majority city in Turkey, situated around a high plateau by the banks of the Tigris river on which stands the historic Diyarbakır Fortress, it is the administrative capital of the Diyarbakır Province of south-eastern Turkey. It is the second-largest city in Turkey’s Southeastern Anatolia Region, after Gaziantep and before Şanlıurfa and the 11th built-up area in Turkey. As of the last 31/12/2019 estimation, the Metropolitan Province population was 1,756,353 inhabitants whom 1,094,551 lived in the built-up (or metro) area made of the 4 urban districts. Diyarbakır has been a main focal point of the conflict between the Turkish state and various Kurdish separatist groups, and is seen by many Kurds as the de facto capital of Kurdistan The city was intended to become the capital of an independent Kurdistan following the Treaty of Sèvres, but this was disregarded following subsequent political developments.




15355.00 km 2










History of Diyarbakır

It has been home to many civilisations and the surrounding area including itself is home to many Mesolithic era stone carvings and artifacts. The province has been ruled by the Akkadians, Hurrians, Mittani, Medes, Hittites, Armenians, Arameans, Neo-Babylonians, Achaemenids, Greeks, Romans, Parthia, Byzantium, Sassanids, Arabs, Seljuk Empire, Mongol Empire, Safavid dynasty, Marwanids, and Ayyubids.

In order to Turkify the local population, in June 1927 the Law 1164 was passed which allowed the creation of Inspectorates-General. The Diyarbakır province was therefore included in the so-called First Inspectorate General, which span over the provinces of Hakkâri, Siirt, Van, Mardin, Bitlis, Sanlıurfa, Elaziğ and Diyarbakır. The first UM was created on the 1 January 1928 and centered in Diyarbakır.The UM was governed by an Inspector General, who governed with a wide-ranging authority over civilian, juridical and military matters. The office of the Inspector General was dissolved in 1952 during the government of the Democrat Party. The Diyarbakır province though was still banned for foreign citizens until 1965. Within the policy of turkification, during the 1930s, several place-names in the province were renamed into names which denoted a Turkish origin

From 1987 to 2002, Diyarbakir Province was part of the OHAL (State of emergency) region which was declared to counter the Kurdistan Workers’ Party (PKK) and governed by a so called Supergovernor who got invested with additional powers than a normal Governor. In 1987 he was given the power to relocate and resettle whole villages, settlements and hamlets.In December 1990 with the Decree No. 430, the supergovernor and the provincial governors in the OHAL region received immunity against any legal prosecution in connections with actions they made due to the powers they received with the Decree No. 430.

Districts of Diyarbakır

  • Bismil
  • Çermik
  • Çınar
  • Çüngüş
  • Dicle
  • Eğil
  • Ergani
  • Hani
  • Hazro
  • Kocaköy
  • Kulp
  • Lice
  • Silvan

Point of Interests in Diyarbakır

Historically, Diyarbakır produced wheat and sesame. They would preserve the wheat in warehouses, with coverings of straw and twigs from licorice trees. This system would allow the wheat to be preserved for up to ten years. In the late 19th and early 20th century, Diyarbakır exported raisins, almonds, and apricots to Europe. Angora goats were raised, and wool and mohair was exported from Diyarbakır. Merchants would also come from Egypt, Istanbul, and Syria, to purchase goats and sheep. Honey was also produced, but not so much exported, but used by locals. Sericulture was observed in the area, too.


Prior to World War I, Diyarbakır had an active copper industry, with six mines. Three were active, with two being owned by locals and the third being owned by the Turkish government. Tenorite was the primary type of copper mined. It was mined by hand by Kurds. A large portion of the ore was exported to England. The region also produced iron, gypsum, coal, chalk, lime, jet, and quartz, but primarily for local use.


The city is served by Diyarbakır Airport and Diyarbakır railway station. In 1935 the railway between Elazığ and Diyarbakır was inaugurated


The core of Diyarbakır is surrounded by an almost intact set of high walls of black basalt forming a 5.5 km (3.4 mi) circle around the old city. There are four gates into the old city and 82 watch-towers on the walls, which were built in antiquity and restored and extended by the Roman emperor Constantius II in 349. The area inside the walls is known as the Sur district; before its recent demolition and redevelopment this district had 599 registered historical buildings

Let's see the cuisine of Diyarbakır

  • Çömlekte Güveç
  • Kadayif
  • Belluh
  • Babakanuç
  • Meftune
  • Kibe Mumbar
  • Içli Köfte
  • Ekşili Etli Dolma
  • Kaburga Dolmasi
  • Pipar Salatasi
  • Diyarbakir Çöreği
  • Diyarbakir Pastirmasi (Şirdanli)

For more information about Diyarbakır



For more information, you may visit the official government website of DIYARBAKIR


See the other cities of Turkey


Şanlıurfa Province (Turkish: Şanlıurfa ili, Kurdish: Parêzgeha Rihayê]) or simply Urfa Province is a province in southeastern Turkey. The city

Learn More »



Learn More »


Muş Province is a province in eastern Turkey. The provincial capital is the city of Muş. Another town in Muş

Learn More »


Çorum is a province in the Black Sea Region of Turkey, but lying inland and having more characteristics of Central

Learn More »
No more posts to show
Sign up now
and get a free copy
of our Investment Guide.
Sign up now and get a free copy of our Investment Guide.

©2022, ZEEDEED­­™ is a protected trademark. All rights reserved.