Summary Information About Bingöl

Bingöl Province is a province of Turkey in Eastern Anatolia. The province was known as Çapakçur Province until 1945 when it was renamed as Bingöl province which literally means “thousand lakes” in Turkish language. Its neighboring provinces are Tunceli, Erzurum, Muş, Diyarbakır, Erzincan and Elazığ. The province covers an area of 8,125 km2 and has a population of 255,170. The capital is Bingöl. As the current Governor of the province, Kadir Ekinci was appointed by the president on the 5 November 2018.


The town of Genç was the scene of origin for the Kurdish Sheikh Said rebellion in 1925 and most of the region was captured by the rebels during the rebellion.





8125,00 km 2










History of Bingöl

From 1923 to 1929, Bingöl Province was part of Elazığ Province and part of Muş Province from 1929 to 1936. It ultimately became a province in 1936.


In December 1935 the Tunceli Law was passed which demanded a more powerful government in the region. Therefore the region containing the present Bingöl province, together with the provinces of Tunceli, Erzincan and Elaziğ were included in the Fourth Inspectorate General (Umumi Müfettişlik, UM) in January 1936. The fourth UM was governed by a Governor Commander. All the employees in the municipalities were to be from the military and the Governor Commander had the authority to evacuate whole villages and resettle them in other parts of the province. in 1946 the Tunceli Law was abolished and the state of emergency removed but the authority of the fourth UM was transferred to the military. The Inspectorate General was dissolved in 1952 during the Government of the Democrat Party


Districts of Bingöl

  • Adaklı
  • Genç
  • Karlıova
  • Kiğı
  • Solhan
  • Yayladere
  • Yedisu

Point of Interests in Bingöl

Bingöl Province was part of Bitlis Vilayet during the Ottoman era as Genç Sanjak and had a population of 36,011 in the 1881-1882 census. 85.7% of the population was Muslim and the remaining 14.3% was Armenian. In the census of 1897, the sanjak had a population of 47,652, of which 88.1% was Muslim and 11.9% was Armenian. All of the Armenians adhered to the Armenian Apostolic Church

Let's see the cuisine of Bingöl


  • Sorina Pel
  • Gömme
  • Tutmaç
  • Keldoş
  • Mastuva
  • Kuru Dolma
  • Kabak Tatlısı
  • Kalbur Hurması
  • Ev Baklavası
  • Kaburga Dolması
  • Kadayıf
  • İçli Köfte

For more information about Bingöl




For more information, you may visit the official government website of bingol


See the other cities of Turkey


Çorum is a province in the Black Sea Region of Turkey, but lying inland and having more characteristics of Central

Learn More »


Sakarya (Turkish: Sakarya ili) is a province in Turkey, located on the coast of Black Sea. The Sakarya River creates

Learn More »


Eskişehir Province is a province in northwestern Turkey. Its adjacent provinces are Bilecik to the northwest, Kütahya to the west,

Learn More »


Kırklareli Province is a province in northwestern Turkey on the west coast of the Black Sea. The province neighbours Bulgaria

Learn More »
No more posts to show
Sign up now
and get a free copy
of our Investment Guide.
Sign up now and get a free copy of our Investment Guide.

©2022, ZEEDEED­­™ is a protected trademark. All rights reserved.